Ashok K Ganguli

Ashok K Ganguli


Born: New Delhi
Ph.D. (Prof. C. N. R. Rao FRS), IISc Bangalore, 1990 Visiting Scientist(1990-1991), DuPont Company, Delaware. Post Doctoral Associate (Prof. J. D. Corbett, F.N.A. Sc. USA 1991-1993), Ames Laboratory, Iowa State University (Ames, Iowa)
Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, 1995-present
Sudborough Medal (IISc) 1990. Materials Research Society of India (MRSI) Medal (2006) for significant contribution to material science. CRSI medal (2007) for contribution to chemistry
Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry
Awards: Nano India award of DST for 2015, DST award for Nanotechnology

Group Webpage

Research Interests

Nanomaterials, superconductors, dielectric oxides and intermetallics .

Our group works mainly in the areas of design of nanostructured materials with applications in water purification, hydrogen generation, sensing and microfluidic devices; superconducting materials (oxides, oxypnictides and oxychalcogenides) and multiferroics.

    Selected Publications

  1. Unconventional Superconductivity at Mesoscopic Point-contacts on the 3-Dimensional Dirac Semi-metal Cd3As2. Leena Aggarwal, Abhishek Gaurav, Gohil S. Thakur, Zeba Haque, A. K. Ganguli and Gautam Sheet, Nature Materials, 2016, 15, 32-37.
  2. Coexistence of superconductivity and ferromagnetism in Sr0. 5Ce0. 5FBiS2-xSex (x= 0.5 and 1.0), a non-U material with Tc< TFM. G. S. Thakur, G. Fuchs, K. Nenkov, Z. Haque, L. C. Gupta and A. K. Ganguli. Sci. Rep. 2016.
  3. Exciton Separation in CdS Supraparticles upon Conjugation with Graphene Sheet. K.Ojha; T. Debnath; P. Maity; M. Makkar; S. Nejati; K. Ramanujachary; P.K. Chowdhury; H.N. Ghosh; A.K. Ganguli. J. Phys. Chem. C, 2017, 121, 6581.
  4. Unusual Mixed Valence of Eu in Two Materials - EuSr2Bi2S4F4 and Eu2SrBi2S4F4: Mössbauer and X-ray Photoemission Spectroscopy Investigations. Z. Haque; G. S. Thakur, R. Parthasarathy; B. Gerke; T. Block; L. Heleta; R. Pö ttgen; A. G. Joshi; G. K. Selvan; S. Arumugam; L. C. Gupta and A. K. Ganguli. Inorg. Chem. 2017, 56, 3182.


        Group Members

    Project Scientists
  • Dr. Anirban Das (CSIR-Pool Officer)
  • Soumen Saha
  • Zeba Haque
  • Vaishali Sethi
  • Nitin Yadav (Jt. student)
  • Sandeep Kumar (Regd DU, Jt. Student)
  • Jayanti Mishra (Regd PU, Jt. Student)
  • Soumen Ash (Regd INST)
  • Moumita Naskar (Jt. Student)
  • Antara Sarkar (Regd INST)
  • Preeti Dagar (Regd INST)